Compile error with command line for RAD studio 10.4

TwineCompile - Cut C++Builder compile times by up to 50x!
Post Reply
Richard_008
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2020 11:53 am

Compile error with command line for RAD studio 10.4

Post by Richard_008 »

Hey,

I am having trouble using TwineCompile with MSBuild with the command line. I have done everything the MSBuild How-To.txt says, but I get the error:

Code: Select all

    "%A_PROJECT_PATH%\%A_GROUP_PROJECT%.groupproj" (Make target) (1) ->
    "%A_PROJECT_PATH%\%A_PROJECT%.cbproj" (Make target) (3) ->
      c:\Program Files (x86)\JomiTech\TwineCompile\TCTargets104.targets(109,5): error MSB4062: The 
      "TCInitTasks" task could not be loaded from the assembly 
      c:\Program Files (x86)\JomiTech\TwineCompile\JTBuildInterface104.dll. Kan bestand of assembly 
      Borland.Build.Tasks.Cpp, Version=27.0.0.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=%A_KEY% of een van 
      de afhankelijkheden hiervan niet laden. Het systeem kan het opgegeven bestand niet vinden. Confirm 
      that the <UsingTask> declaration is correct, that the assembly and all its dependencies are available, 
      and that the task contains a public class that implements Microsoft.Build.Framework.ITask. 
      [C:\%A_PROJECT_PATH%\%A_PROJECT%.cbproj]
Can someone help me? I have already tried adding the Borland.Build.Tasks.Cpp.dll to the TwineCompile folder, but that didn't help.

Many Thanks!
jomitech
Site Admin
Posts: 2153
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 12:23 am

Re: Compile error with command line for RAD studio 10.4

Post by jomitech »

What TwineCompile build are you using? (It's in the TwineCompile->About screen)
Jon
Richard_008
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2020 11:53 am

Re: Compile error with command line for RAD studio 10.4

Post by Richard_008 »

I have version 5.2.1.250
jomitech
Site Admin
Posts: 2153
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 12:23 am

Re: Compile error with command line for RAD studio 10.4

Post by jomitech »

Interesting. I'll have to get back to you on this - the latest builds should have taken care of this.

In the meanwhile, if you can use our jtmake utility to invoke MSBuild, it will take care of the proper configuration automatically. It's located in the TwineCompile Program Files directory and can be used to build projects or project groups using TwineCompile.
Jon
Richard_008
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2020 11:53 am

Re: Compile error with command line for RAD studio 10.4

Post by Richard_008 »

In the meantime I will use those.
But the disadvantage of those is that they generate a lot of information in the terminal which slows down the build (I think, I know it is about 40-50% slower than the IDE, taking around 30 seconds instead of 20). Is there a setting which reduces the number of things that is printed to the terminal?
jomitech
Site Admin
Posts: 2153
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 12:23 am

Re: Compile error with command line for RAD studio 10.4

Post by jomitech »

What options do you pass to MSBuild to reduce the output?
Jon
Richard_008
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2020 11:53 am

Re: Compile error with command line for RAD studio 10.4

Post by Richard_008 »

Usually I use /verbosity:minimal
jomitech
Site Admin
Posts: 2153
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 12:23 am

Re: Compile error with command line for RAD studio 10.4

Post by jomitech »

I've attached a potential fix for the DLL loading issue. Please extract into the TwineCompile Program Files directory.
Attachments
JTBuildInterface.zip
(22.21 KiB) Downloaded 508 times
Jon
Richard_008
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2020 11:53 am

Re: Compile error with command line for RAD studio 10.4

Post by Richard_008 »

Works like a charm! Thanks a lot!

JTBuildLoader104.dll is a file I didn't have before. Was I supposed to already have this? If yes, it might expain the problem.

Thanks again for this fix!
jomitech
Site Admin
Posts: 2153
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 12:23 am

Re: Compile error with command line for RAD studio 10.4

Post by jomitech »

This is a new file. We split the loading functionality into two DLLs now, so that the first can load and configure the appropriate paths for the second one to be able to load (JTBuildInterface104.dll has references to the Borland*.dll files, so cannot be loaded if those references can't be found).
Jon
Post Reply