IDE breakpoints suddenly stop working

IDE breakpoints suddenly stop working

Postby p.colbert on Wed Jun 27, 2018 2:20 pm

We have seen this occur much more frequently (several times a day) with TwineCompile than without (several times a year).
IDE: Borland C++ Builder 5
OS: Windows XP SP3
Workaround: delete both the built .exe and the built .tds file. When TwineCompile rebuilds both files, then the previously-set breakpoints start working again. For awhile.

Is there a TwineCompile setting that can prevent this from occurring?
p.colbert
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jun 27, 2018 2:02 pm

Re: IDE breakpoints suddenly stop working

Postby jomitech on Thu Jun 28, 2018 5:27 am

There is no setting that will prevent this. It sounds like the TDS is being corrupted more frequently than usual. I'd suggest putting a pre-build event in place that deletes the .tds file, so that it's forced to be re-generated every time.
Jon
jomitech
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1918
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 12:23 am

Re: IDE breakpoints suddenly stop working

Postby p.colbert on Fri Jun 29, 2018 4:05 pm

Thank you for your time and suggestion. I have some follow-up information from the developer who is experiencing the problem.

Before trying any automation, we tried manual deletion. Deleting the .tds file alone proved to be insufficient, even if you close the IDE first. You must delete both the .tds and the .exe file.

What seems to always work:
1. exit from the IDE
2. delete them manually
3. restart the IDE
4. perform a link.

I did set up a batch file to do the deletions, as you suggest, and invoked it as a pre-link step. The developer has been using this setup all day. The files are indeed deleted (verified in the batch file), but the intermittent breakpoint failure persists.

Working backwards from the affected files... Perhaps there is some other linker we could use? In addition to C++ Builder 5, we have 6, 2007, and XE2.
p.colbert
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jun 27, 2018 2:02 pm

Re: IDE breakpoints suddenly stop working

Postby jomitech on Mon Jul 02, 2018 8:42 am

So it sounds like the .exe and .tds are getting corrupted, and the IDE's cache of these files needs to be refreshed (by restarting the IDE).

Let me think about this.
Jon
jomitech
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1918
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 12:23 am

Re: IDE breakpoints suddenly stop working

Postby p.colbert on Mon Jul 02, 2018 4:05 pm

We appreciate your consideration.

I don't know enough about the internals of the IDE, but perhaps it might be enough to
1. Save All,
2. Close All and
3. Reopen last project/group

I'll suggest that to our Builder 5 developer, see if it makes a difference.
p.colbert
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jun 27, 2018 2:02 pm

Re: IDE breakpoints suddenly stop working

Postby p.colbert on Wed Jul 18, 2018 9:51 am

Developer reports:
That 3-step process does seem to work.
It's not really any faster than IDE shutdown and restart.
It hasn't been needed lately.
p.colbert
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jun 27, 2018 2:02 pm

Re: IDE breakpoints suddenly stop working

Postby jomitech on Wed Jul 18, 2018 8:48 pm

Good to know, thanks for the update.
Jon
jomitech
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1918
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 12:23 am


Return to General

cron